Sustainability Sunday #24

Climate change isn’t all about the news, getting lectured by people in white coats and reports with words you’ve never heard of (I am a “climate change professional” and I still see words I have to Google), you can read stories about it too. 

About 8 months ago I joined my local library, I know right, what a nerd! My university friends and I started a book club, primarily as an excuse to all get together to drink wine and gossip. The first one we had we spent a grand total of two minutes talking about the book and the rest of it eating chips and dip, bemoaning work and commenting on what our estranged university pals were up to on Instagram. But, by joining the library I triggered a far more intelligent commute than the habitual scrolling social media and occasionally falling asleep against the bus window. I now had a different book every week, I was waking up my mind a good hour before arriving at work and taking myself completely away from the chaotic London traffic, starting work with a peaceful and active mind (this can totally make a difference to your whole day). 

One such book I chose was David Mitchell’s ‘The Bone Clocks’, and through it runs a very prevalent story about the damage of a changing climate. 

So if you prefer to learn your stuff in a way where you don’t have to have Dictionary.com at hand, here’s my top 4 (and highly recommended) climate fiction books: 

1. The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell

Written in the form of five narrators the story meanders towards environmental apocalypse and a global socio-economic crisis. An intricate and imagination-grabbing read packed with fact. 

2. Odds Against Tomorrow – Nathaniel Rich

A story of an average guy who in day to day life deals with disaster statistics, when his city is hit by a natural disaster he’s suddenly faced with the reality of our need to focus on a simple life that doesn’t take advantage of the environment. 

3. Memory of Water – Emmi Itaranta

Set in the future where the impacts of climate change have already taken effect, the main character is training to be a tea master but water is scarce. A story of knowledge and power.

4. Back to the Garden – Clara Hume

A slow paced post-apocalyptic tale set in America. It presents a view of our future should we not take action on climate. 

One thought on “Sustainability Sunday #24

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

